200,000-249,999 SparkPoints 206,029
go to goodies page
Black Panther W...
go to goodies page
Dark Chocolate
go to goodies page
Thank You Card

BKWERM is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with BKWERM
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts



I do solemnly pledge:
that I will do my best to eat healthy and within my calorie range,
that I will exercise to the best of my ability,
that I will watch my portions and avoid mindless eating,
that I will avoid or limit unhealthy foods,
that I will try to get enough sleep,
that I will stretch myself out of my comfort zone,
that I will always try to make healthy choices even when stressed,
that if I slip, I will get back on track with the very next opportunity,
that I will keep a CAN DO attitude, or ask for Help,
and that I will support my fellow teammates

Because I am a Black Panther
And every Panther has the heart of a hero.

PART 1 - I Plan-----

To get out of the 180s. (Goals)

To reach this goal by FEBRUARY 10.

To enjoy the experience and feel proud of myself for taking steps to improve my life.

Action Steps to Goals

1. Cardio 6 days a week
2. 25+ grams of fibre every day.
3. No unplanned treats
4. -500+ CICO daily

INFO about me...

I am 60 years old and I started at 264 pounds in 1998 and have been trying to get down to 150 pounds since then.

I retired recently and I am planning on more active days than I had during my 30 years as a secretary.

I have rheumatoid autoimmune disease (RAD) and osteoarthritis, which sometimes makes it difficult to exercise but I know that I always feel better afterwards. Sometimes you just have to push yourself to get going and once you're going, the pain often goes away.

I've been married for 36 years and counting. We have no pets or kids by choice.

I'm close to my family. In this pandemic age, I have been hiking with my dad rather than going to his place for dinner weekly. This is great as I'm not enjoying the fat and calorie-laden meals he likes to prepare and I'm getting exercise, too.

My 4 sisters and I have been staying in close contact during the pandemic including having 2 Zoom birthday parties for my second sister on April 18 and mine on May 9, which were fun.

In normal times, I visit and stay at various sisters' houses during the year.

I'm a music-a-holic especially alternative-rock and classic rock and go to a lot of concerts with my husband. We actually had 10 concerts booked this year but that's not happening now. Darn pandemic.

I love reading. My favourite genres are mysteries, romantic suspense and YA fantasy and sci-fi novels.

I also love reading cookbooks and fitness books.

I love exercising to DVDs and have over 200 workouts. My favourite forms of exercise are strength training, dance, kickboxing, hiking and swimming.

I love native art and most of the art in our house is of the native sort.

I am learning how to grow cannabis.

I enjoy cooking and love that I can now cook whenever I want and not just on the weekends when I had time. I'm looking forward to trying more new recipes this year.

Member Since: 9/8/2007

Fitness Minutes: 199,041

My Goals:
To lose 10 pounds by the end of 2021.
To read 200 books in 2021.

My Program:
To follow the SparkPeople program.
To exercise for a minimum of 45 minutes a day 6 times a week incorporating strength-training along with cardio.
To drink 6 cups of water a day, minimum.
To limit junk food/bad fats.

Personal Information:
I live in Ontario, Canada with my husband, named Jake. I have no kids by choice but 13 nieces and nephews, whom I love and spoil. My birthday is May 12, 1960 and I've been married to Jake since March 24, 1984.

I'd rather listen to music than watch TV. However, that said, I LOVE All Rise and the various cooking competitive shows like Top Chef and Masterchef.

Other Information:
Favourite colour: red (then blue, purple, fuchsia and orange in that order)
Favourite book: The Stone Angel by Margaret Laurence
Favourite movie: Benny & Joon
Favourite band: Green Day
Favourite season: Spring
Favourite number: 8

Read More About BKWERM - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 30)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 83.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Joanna ~ weird, my spark-REPLY mail isn't working right, so just letting you know that's Great...I'm happy to be your Spark friend! It's just me and hubby here too, so when I DO bake, I bake the smallest amount and then either freeze some or give some away. I have to have 'treats' or I go crazy and really binge....the "key" of course if finding that moderation point. Looks like you had a great day yesterday with food and exercise! I'm looking forward to getting a new workout in the mail today....I get Netflix and it's a great way to 'try out' workouts before actually buying them. I put Elizabeth George and Deborah Crombie on my 'look for' list to take to the library. Thanks for the suggestions! later! ~ tracy

    4812 days ago
    Hi Joanna! I'm so glad you joing the Box of Books team! I look forward to seeing and hearing about what you are reading.

    I too am child-free by choice...but my sweetie has 5 boys so, I guess I'll keep em (WINK lol). Congrats on your weight loss so far...you have done great! I see you are tracking your food....I think that is SO helpful and I know it really keeps me on track. I'm gonna peek in on you now and then and see what's on your menu! lol.....I'm so nosy lol. Actually, I find inspiration in looking at the food logs ~ sometimes I get good ideas about different things to eat. Okay...I'm going on.....hope your weekend is going well! I'm off to watch some guys drive fast and turn left. (nascar lol)....take care! ~ tracy

    4814 days ago
    Good Morning and welcome to Gardening! So much fun!!
    Boy are we alot alike! I am 48, have RA, need to lose over 100+, and I am in menopause! I love it. I do have two children and four dogs by choice!! I am an EMT, I volunteer for the town I live in and I am a landscaper. Yes, I physically go out at my age and put lawns in, install flower beds, trees, shrubs, build patio's etc.... I love it although it's getting more and more difficult to do with my RA. I wish you the best in your weight loss. Keep in touch.
    4833 days ago
    Encouraging thought of the day:
    This is a day the Lord has Made; Let us rejoyce and be glad in it!
    4833 days ago
Member Comments (1249):  << First< Previous248249250