go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
The Spark

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with NERDFAERIE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I was recently diagnose with type II diabetes. Luckily, I had already been cutting out soda, fast food, and most processed foods, but in recent weeks, we've fallen back into old habits (minus the sodas).

My blood sugar wasn't super high, but my A1C was 6.6, so I want to get this under control now, while I still can. I've been reading a lot about a paleo/primal lifestyle for the past few months, but I'm not convinced it's a viable, healthy diet with all the meat that's consumed. I also don't like the idea of going vegetarian.

I'm worried that I won't be able to completely give up things like bread, pancakes, and oatmeal. It's hard for me to accept that something like whole wheat bread or oatmeal is bad for me. My husband and I tried a paleo diet for about two weeks and it was incredibly difficult to cook every single meal and to find appropriate things for us to eat for lunch. I ended up putting in so much time preparing his lunches and breakfasts that I'd often neglect my own.

I already suffer from fibromyalgia and PCOS, so with this new diagnosis added on, it's even more crucial that I eat regularly scheduled, healthy meals. It's especially important to find things I can prepare ahead of time or just grab and go because by the time I'm done showering, dressing, etc. and finally eat, it's often two or three hours after I wake up!

Member Since: 8/10/2010

Fitness Minutes: 195

My Goals:
Ideally, I'd love to be a healthier weight. But my main goal is to be healthier, period.

My Program:
Any exercise is good. I've started doing the True Beginner program on Daily Burn. I also count any major walking around I do - like shopping at Costco. That's a workout for me.

Personal Information:
I grew up in SoCal and lived there for about 30 years off an on. I now live in Tacoma with my husband.

Other Information:
I enjoy reading, crocheting, sewing, watching shows on my iPad, baking, driving in the mountains or near the sound, rain.

I have fibromyalgia, PCOS, metabolic syndrome, insulin resistance, a lower back injury, sciatica, and arthritis pain in my knees, hips, and hands.

Read More About NERDFAERIE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 15)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 0.0 
Login to Leave Comment