30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 39,064
See this image larger
25th Anniversary - 2009

See this image larger
February 2006

See this image larger
June 2008

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Stability Ball
go to goodies page

Interact with SHEPHERD0348
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am now 65+. I'm a wife, a grandmother of a delightful grandson, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I've spent a long time working and was unceremoniously laid off about 2 years ago. This wasn't such a bad thing. I have been able to be "retired" since then and have been enjoying my time to do my own thing and get involved in a garden club and quilt guild and take some quilting classes and start working on that never ending reading list. We live on a farm in an urban area of Maryland, surrounded by heavily traveled highways and housing developments. We have a few sheep, and tried our hand at raising a couple of beef cows, which wasn't a bad thing - until they escaped.

I've been working at losing weight all my life. All the diets I've ever been on have worked, if I worked the diets. The problem was if I slipped back into my old eating habits, all the weight and more re-appeared. I've finally surrendered to the belief that unless I make some permanent behavior changes in the way I deal with food, I will be doomed to be huge the rest of my life. I'm working at increasing my daily activities. Journaling every day is another activity I need to work on.

I've found some great motivational articles, and read some good interchange among some of the members on the message boards. I've been reading "The Spark" and working on putting the changes into place a little at a time so I don't set myself up for failure.

I'd love to have a "Journey" Buddy if anyone is interested.

Member Since: 12/5/2007

Fitness Minutes: 29,881

My Goals:
Continue to improve my eating habits by making healthier choices and lower calorie choices for meals. Stick to my exercise plan to improve my knee stability and overall body strength.

My Program:
Working at logging all food eaten daily. Working on sticking to the program. Using pedometer to remind me to increase steps daily. Now working to add more activity to each day.

Personal Information:
I was raised in the Baltimore-Washington area and have lived in this area my whole life.

Other Information:
I enjoy quilting, knitting, I love a good murder mystery or a good thriller. I have been moving to books on tape/CD/MP3 so I can listen while I'm sewing or knitting - or working out.

Read More About SHEPHERD0348 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 7)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 28.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (16):  123Next >Last >>