8,500-9,999 SparkPoints 9,253
See this image larger
me about 2010 - around 300 to 310 lbs

See this image larger
These two always want me to sit down so they can take over my lap and get on with their naps!

See this image larger
found this on someone else's Sparkpage, can't remember whose!

go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page
Personal Trainer
go to goodies page
Boxing Gloves

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with LASOLA1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

We three - one human, two felines - enjoy solitude. I (the human) turned 66 in February of 2019. I have been blissfully retired since January 2015. Pudgy as a child and very obese for most of my adult life, I got into "One-derland" (under 200 lbs.) in January 2014 using SparkPeople identity '1salmon1'. In May 2014 I quit Sparkpeople; suddenly, and not planned. In retrospect I realize I was spending too much time every evening checking on friends, logging my food and exercise, blogging - and at the time I sat in front of a computer all day at work. I burned out. I thought I could use what I'd learned to keep getting healthier on my own. My weight has bounced between 175 & 190 lbs. since June 2014 - usually around 185. In 2015 I came back to Sparkpeople but created this new page for some reason - can't remember why. I was retired by then, but my mom was ill and I was very busy with care for her so again did not continue with Sparkpeople. Mom passed away, and my life has settled down. I am very well; I can move easily. Walking & hiking, Tai Chi and yoga, dancing, pilates and swimming are all activities I enjoy. If I feel this great now, wouldn't I feel even better if I lose more of my excess weight? So I'm back on Sparkpeople as of Nov. 2018.

Member Since: 6/9/2015

Fitness Minutes: 16,319

My Goals:
*I choose 130 lbs. as a goal weight arbitrarily - don't really know what that will look like till I get closer.
*I will be active every day for at least 60 minutes, leading to more strength, endurance, flexibility, and agility - and less excess body fat.
*I will have fun with my fitness - I won't make it a chore, a task.
*I will continue to learn how to manage food cravings.

My Program:
For now, regular, varied, FUN activities every day. At least an hour each day doing things I enjoy - walking, hiking, Tai Chi, yoga, dance, pilates, swimming, etc. Eat small. Eat clean. Prepare my own food. Avoid socializing around food - I tend to binge in that setting. Continue a basically paleo diet - lots of veggies, lean meats, mono-unsaturated fats. No grains or legumes (though I love them) - when I eat them I have more joint pain and more cravings. Eat more calories - 1300 to 1400 each day. Balance the macros fairly evenly.

Personal Information:
I'm a very introverted person. Socializing, though I enjoy it, exhausts me. I want to use the tools on Sparkpeople, and offer support to others, but I can't let myself get drawn into spending hours online. Have to figure that part out...

Other Information:
Both knees have now been replaced after a lifetime of injuries and dislocations. Otherwise I am very lucky - health is good. Though bone density test in Nov 2017 says I have osteoporosis.

Read More About LASOLA1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 3)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 170.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (39):  123Next >Last >>