See this image larger
Sunny Gals

See this image larger
Warrior Dash October 1st, 2011

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Boxing Gloves
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

07/12/2018: Well, I am back again and at my highest weight ever. I really need support to get back to where I was, I can't do it alone. The fella is supportive, but doesn't always get it. I've struggled with depression and lack of motivation over the last few years, especially since my mom died, and am also facing some medical issues that impact my ability to exercise a lot, but I can't let that be an excuse any longer. I am in my early 40s and can't let my health and weight get any worse. I am joining weight watchers and following up with my doctor regularly. Please feel free to join me along this journey!

Prior Intro: Hi Y'all, and welcome to my page! My name is Laura, I am in my mid-30's, and I am creating the me I want to be--no excuses! I live in Madison, WI with my fella and our cat. I love music (especially rockabilly and psychobilly), read and collect comic books, and collect vintage bar/kitchenware and tiki stuff. I also have a huge assortment of vintage dresses that I am slowly starting to fit back into, and mountains of vintage costume jewelry. I'm a movie dork as well, and can quote from movies to fit almost any situation. *wry grin*

I have been on Sparkpeople since January of 2008, and had lost just over 30 lbs. Unfortunately, I have had setbacks and hit plateaus, regaining all the weight I lost, but I have never given up, and I'm never going to! I have learned so much over the years I've been on this journey, and not a moment has truly been wasted.

I am a proud DONE Girl, Sunny Gal, and Rockabilly Bombshell! I love these gals!

Member Since: 1/18/2008

My Goals:
My goals at this time are to lose 70 lbs, get in shape and become healthier overall in my life. I want to strengthen my back and core so that I have less chronic lower back pain.

My Program:
Joining Weight Watchers July 2018, I will be doing my tracking with them, but may occasionally track on SP as well.

Eating clean and mostly paleo, doing what exercising I can, which is walking daily and taking a private pilates lesson weekly. I love Zombies, Run!, so am using that on my walks right now.

Personal Information:
I've moved around a lot in the last few years, but seem to have come full circle, starting and ending in Madison, with incredible time spent in Austin, Northern VA, and Las Vegas. I spent a month in South Africa, summer of 2015.

I went back to school when I moved back to Madison, graduating with a BS in Biological Anthropology and a minor in Archaeology from UW-Madison in 2016.

Other Information:
I love and collect comic books. Some of my favorites are Sandman, Transmetropolitan, Preacher, The Invisibles, Lucifer, Paper Girls, and Hellboy.

My all time favorite book is Geek Love. I read all the time and am always up for a good book recommendation. I'm happy to recommend books too! :)

Favorite movies include The Boondock Saints, The Last Temptation of Christ, Mallrats, and the Resident Evil movies.

Read More About MISSROCKABILLY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 12)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 187.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (2092):  123Next >Last >>