80,000-99,999 SparkPoints 93,157
See this image larger
Down 40 lbs since I began supervised weight loss

See this image larger
My furbabies, Sampson (doxie/springer mix - 13 years old) and Boots (Boston Terror - 7 years old)

See this image larger
Photo taken 8/9/2019 that sparked my decision to have Lap-Band surgery

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Best Wishes
In-Between Lead...
go to goodies page
Fruit Basket

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with MUSIC2HISEARS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello and welcome to my page. My name is Brenda, and I'm a singe 50 something from central Indiana. I've made it this far with never marrying and never having children, but my nephews, great nieces, and my furbaby are the lights of my life.

I'm in the process of learning of what it really means to be an "overcomer":

* I'm a cancer survivor
* I've batted with the extremes that come with being diagnosed with bipolar disorder
* I'm a suicide surivor
* I've dealt with debilitating injuries that have brought my life to a halt
* I've battled with adversity that comes with being unemployed for over a year
* I've battled with trying to keep the basics in life
* And, I've dealt with loss

The one thing I have to say about all of that is that I've fought back through all of that, never giving up, even if I did feel like it, or even try, at times. But, I'm still here. I'm still breathing. I'm still living. I'm still surviving.

No. I'm not just surviving, I'm beating the odds.

Since an injury in October 2016, I've gained nearly 100 lbs, reaching my highest weight of 286 lbs. It was at that point that I vowed that I would not allow myself to go any higher. The process of reversing the course has not been easy, and has been full of obstacles and even pits and valleys. But I'm doing it.

In the process, I have:

* February 2018: Started seeking alternative help for my debilitating injuries, which have completely reversed the effect and pain levels to nearly nothing, and I have regained full mobility
* May 2018: I started a new job that allows me to work from home 95% of the time, with me traveling every 9th week for one week, thus lowering my stress levels
* September 2020: I am now a Covid survivor, and took a beating by having the virus. The good news is that I did not gain like everyone else. I also just lost my beloved Sampson just over a month ago (July 29, the day after my birthday). But have adopted a Russian Blue cat named Mojo Rios, who is 10. I am also struggling with being unemployed, and hopefully that will change very soon.
* March 2021: I’ve reached a point where if I want to lose weight, even with injuries, I need better tools. On March 19, I will have bariatric surgery to help me in my journey.

The list is still growing, but those are just the beginning. I'm turning this ship around, and I'm going to totally rock this weight loss!

Member Since: 9/20/2008

Fitness Minutes: 40,564

My Goals:
1) To lose 1 to 2 lbs per week (slow and steady wins the race)

2) Implement a 30 minutes of cardio per day (minimum of 5 days per week), plus 3 days of 45 minutes of strength training per week regimen

3) Incorporate 15 minutes of yoga in the morning and evening

4) Keep eating out to a minimum

My Program:
My diet program is actually more of a lifestyle choice, and that is I follow diabetic restrictions and am also living the Mediterranean way of life. I love food, and the options for the MWOL are absolutely delicious, and quite easy to follow. I'm also learning how to tame my sweet tooth.

My fitness program is to keep it simple. I added the Joyn app to my Roku device, and am absolutely in love! I plan to do at least 30 minutes of exercise a day, starting off with 3 sets of 10 minute workouts.I currently do chair exercise, but hope to starting standing soon. I will also be taking my Boston Terrier for walks daily (multiple). I live near a major walking path and the dog park is within walking distance, but not close.

Personal Information:
I currently live in Indianapolis, Indiana with my pup Boots (a 9 soon to be 10 year old Boston Terrier). I am a software quality assurance analyst, who works in the medical device software industry.

Other Information:
Psalm 40:2-3 He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

2 Timothy 1:7 The Spirit God gave us does not make us afraid. His Spirit is a source of power and love and self-control.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Read More About MUSIC2HISEARS - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 13)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 238.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (1229):  123Next >Last >>