See this image larger
Me and my youngest daughter, Christine. November 2008

See this image larger
Cruise to Alaska 2006

See this image larger

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
go to goodies page

Interact with PAULAPOOH4
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am 67 years old and totally disabled. I suffered a siesure of Guillian Barre in September 2006. I was left with very, very restricted movement. I spend my days in my recliner chair looking out my family room window at the world outside. I have decided that I would really, really like to lose some weight. I do not want to completely deprive myself on a strict diet, but, I am willing to learn a new way of eating.

Since I have been a member of SP, since 7/2010, I have been tracking my food everyday and trying to stay within my alloted calorie count per day.

I have started Aquatic Therapy and Chair Eercises

I have joined the Biggest Losers 12 Week Challenge #15. It will start on January 5, 2011. These challenges are such a big help to me that I look forward to "great" things in 2011.

Member Since: 7/7/2010

Fitness Minutes: 3,350

My Goals:
My long term goal is to lose 200 lbs. I have been obese for over 4 years and heavy all of my life. I am not able to walk for than 10 steps or so and I am tired of being disabled. I have been thinking about my goals for 2011. I do not want to make "New Years Resolutions" that somehow never are kept. I think I would be able to set my goals as follows:

12 Week Challenge:

Lose 12 lbs.
Stay at 1500 Calories per day
Exercise 270 minutes a week

I have a real problem with the exercise as I am chair bound. I hope to be able to get back to my Aquatic Therapy 2 times a week. I am also doing my Chair Exercises for 30 minutes 5 times a week. I will see how this goes and maybe I will be able to add more time later.

My 2011 goals are pretty much the same as the challenge goals. I would like to lose 50 lbs in 2011.

With the help of all of my SP Friends support and encouragement I think I just might be successful!!!

My Program:
I am changing my way of eating to a low carb, sodium, fat diet. I am doing my best to stay below 2000 calories per day. Excercise at this time is limited but I have a physical therapist working with me 2 times a week.

Personal Information:
I live in Clovis, California. We are located pretty much in the middle of the State. I was born in California and have lived here all of my life.

I have two daughters that are grown and live here in town which is wonderful. I have one Grandson who is 22 years old and the treasure of my life. Yes, he is spoiled. He is in college hoping to become a Special Needs Teacher.

I have been married to my Husband for 47 years. He is my rock.

Other Information:
Most of my activities have become only those things I can do from my chair. Jewelry making, loom knitting and being on the computer. I do not think I have conquered Facebook, but I am still trying. I have not tried Blogging or Tweet yet. Maybe someone could give me pointers?

Read More About PAULAPOOH4 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 6)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 115.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (272):  123Next >Last >>