50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 55,314

5% Challenge Daily Plan

Friday, January 01, 2021

Happy New Year!

Today, as part of my prep for the Winter 5% Challenge, I'm going through my daily routine. Now, I'm an academic, and I'm not technically back to standard teaching stuffs until at least 1/20, but I'm going to try and maintain a schedule between now and then as well that I can translate easily. The one big bonus to teaching from home is that I get far more flexibility in my schedule than I normally would, so I'm making use of that, especially while it is dark and cold.

5:30am (I know, I’m up stupid early, not sure when it became a thing, but it’s definitely a thing now) - Work/stuff
7:15am (this will get earlier throughout the challenge as the sunrise gets earlier, all the way to 6:15am by the first week of March) Get dogs ready for walk and go walking. Walks will probably be about a mile in about 30min for most of this challenge, although on warmer days we add in another 0.5 miles. Then we get back, undo all the warm gear and feed the dogs.
8:15am Strength/Run/Yoga (this changes day to day based on my workout schedule and the weather)
8:45am Breakfast & Tea (or just the tea with added fat/protein depending on hunger)
9:00am quick journal, including health check in, gratitude, and MITs for the day
9:15am read morning local paper (on my ipad)
9:30am shower (sometimes)
10:00am Sparkpeople check-in
10:15am start “work day” during which I use pomodoro work methods of 25-45min of work with a 5 min break, during the break I usually do a quick exercise (push-ups, yoga move, stretch band) and make sure to get tea which I drink all day
1pm “lunch” which I usually cooked yesterday for dinner for my partner
1:30-5pm “work day” - although if I’m still hungry around 3:30-4 or even 5 (depending on my cycle) I’ll grab another small meal or large snack.
5pm Make “dinner” which my partner eats and I put in the fridge for the next day. I also prep my evening magnesium drink and nuts and my tea for the next day
6-7:30pm Sometimes I have a meeting, class, or other thing here, or I try to get another chunk or two of work done
8-10pm Chill out, do NY Times crossword, watch TV (we’re currently watching The Expanse and Cobra Kai and re-watching Star Trek TNG), drink my Mg and eat my pistachios.
9:30-10:30pm Bedtime, and I do 10-15 minutes of tapping (EFT) before falling asleep.

Obviously, this is an outline, and things move around a lot. Sometimes I’ll plan to meet a friend for running later in the day, and then do breakfast and work stuff earlier. Sometimes I do have scheduled meetings by 9 or 10am, and I’ll move those other items later. As the sun shifts, the whole early part of the schedule shifts earlier and my workday starts earlier (but I do less workstuff before the sun comes up as that happens). Also, this plan last until about late-March to mid-April when I start running before the sun comes up (so long as the temps get better).

Anyway, this is my plan!
Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post
  • NANCY-
    Great schedule. It is nice to be flexible about it too. (as we all know, stuff happens)

    212 days ago
  • Add Your Comment to the Blog Post

    Log in to post a comment

    Disclaimer: Weight loss results will vary from person to person. No individual result should be seen as a typical result of following the SparkPeople program.